Youth Talent Showcase


YAC's Talent Showcase is an annual event. The night features a series of performances by local talent, honors YAC grant recipients and their service projects, and celebrates the service projects completed by YACers themselves. Highlights of the program also include special service-related awards, a YAC dance performance, and a farewell to all YAC Seniors. This event is unique to the Gratiot County Community Foundation Youth Advisory Council and is a great way to wrap up the school year.




Debra Wasik Teaching Service Award

The Youth Advisory Council honors teachers who have made a difference in the lives of youth by engaging them in giving back to their community through service projects, by establishing the Debra Wasik Teaching Service Award. Debra Wasik taught at Alma Public Schools for 34 years until her untimely passing in 2012. This award is established in her name to honor her memory and to recognize those teachers who, like her, engage students in service both in and out of the classroom. This year, the recipients were chosen and nominated by YACers. We had five teachers receive this award, each from a different school.

Phil Maxwell
St. Louis Public Schools

Sue Meier
Ithaca Public Schools

Emily Adams
Alma Public Schools

Joe Radtke
Breckenridge Community Schools

James Goodspeed
Fulton Public Schools

Pictured from left to right, James Goodspeed, Sue Meier, Joe Radtke, Emily Adams, Phil Maxwell


Anna Frutiger Memorial Service Award
Anna Frutiger was an active member in YAC throughout high school despite her very demanding schedule. Anna was involved in many after school activities and school organizations, but always made time to participate in YAC. Anna will always be remembered for her dedication to her friends and family, her education and her love for serving her community. She graduated from Alma High School in 2005 as valedictorian of her class and went on to receive her Bachelor of Science degree in molecular biology from Kenyon College in Gambier, Ohio in 2009. Anna had just completed her first year of dental school at University of Pittsburgh when she suffered a fatal pulmonary embolism in May of 2010.This award was established in her memory to honor Anna's commitment to serving others, and is awarded to a YAC graduating senior each year that also demonstrates a commitment to service.  The recipient of the 2019 Anna Frutiger Memorial Service Award is Kayla Howey.
Pictured are Kayla Howey and Tyler Kinnunen

Leadership Award

The leadership award is given to a YACer who inspires others to get excited about leadership, philanthropy, and service. This award honors someone that truly exemplifies leadership and consistently engages others to get excited about service, all while making an inclusive environment for everyone. The recipients of this award have dedicated an immense amount of time and passion into not only their community, but Gratiot County as a whole. Within YAC, they serve as a familiar face and role model to every member and volunteer, embodying themselves as an astounding YAC leader. The recipient of the 2019 Leadership Award is Tyler Kinnunen. 

Señora Kaufmann Memorial Scholarship


The Señora Kaufmann Memorial Scholarship was established in November 2020 by the family of Sally Kaufmann to honor her decades of service to teaching and continue her legacy in foreign language and education.  Señora Kaufmann’s passion for teaching Spanish and Hispanic culture, along with her special gift for connecting with her students and colleagues, made her a beloved educator.

Sally Kaufmann was dedicated to helping students further their education, achieve their goals, and literally explore the world.  She was a loyal confidant to countless students with whom she shared her wisdom and listened to their dreams. It is her family’s hope that the Señora Kaufmann Memorial Scholarship will assist Alma High School and other Gratiot County students pursue their passion in foreign language, travel, and international studies. 

 © 2010 - 2021   Gratiot County Community Foundation by AccuNet Web Services