Katherine Mullinax Memorial Scholarship


Scholarship Information


Supporting residents of Gratiot County graduating from high school or enrolled full-time in a post-secondary educational institution

Katherine Mullinax (1908-1996) was the owner and operator of the Betty Barry Shop in St. Louis and passed the business to her daughter, Betty Miller.  Betty was a reputable businesswoman in her own right, as well as being a very charitably-minded person.  Upon her death in 2004, Betty established this scholarship in memory of her mother, Katherine (pictured at the right).

Betty’s goals for this scholarship were to define broad criteria so as to make it available to most any student in Gratiot County who had the desire to pursue post-secondary education.  The first scholarship was awarded in 2007, nearly 100 years following Mrs. Mullinax’s birth.  This scholarship will continue for generations to come supporting Gratiot County youth in achieving their goals of higher education. 


Scholarship Criteria

  • Must reside in Gratiot County and be either a graduating high school senior OR full-time student enrolled in post-secondary educational institution including college, university, vocational and post-graduate study OR previous scholarship recipient;
  • Preference given to those demonstrating academic achievement, community service and financial need.

As many as 9 scholarships available for as much as $2,100 each.


Previous Recipients


Heather Becker
Mathew DesRochers
Jaclyn Cartwright
Garrett Slavik
Angela McDonald
Erikka Hammond

Jaclyn Cartwright
Ashlee Fish
Jacob Nelson
Chelsea Nowlin
Andrea Ring
Aaron Wendzel

Ashlee Fish
Elizabeth Lytle
Jacob Bush
Joshua Wilk
Marlena Payne
Matthew DesRochers
Kimberly Azelton

Mathew Blick
Stephanie Bransdorfer
Samantha Drowley
Matthew Loomis
Elizabeth Lytle
Haley Shankel
Marissa Struble
Ashley Clark
Dominique Guiterrez
Slade Martin
Parker Schaub
Reed Smith
John Sherwood
Ashten Stambersky
Samantha Drowley
Samantha Dunlap
Dakota Colthorp
Madeline DuHadway
Nathan Goffnett
Aubree Jenkins
Devin Schreiner
Haley Shankel
Devin Slavik
Dirk Stoneman
John Vusich


Scholarship Recipients


Evan Casey
Ithaca High School
Kaylin Davis
Fulton High School
Evan Goodell
St. Louis High School
Holly Gregory
Breckenridge High School
Autumn Gurnee
St. Louis High School
 © 2010 - 2019   Gratiot County Community Foundation by AccuNet Web Services